NTPC lays foundation stone of its first 800 MW unit in MP


The foundation stone laying of 1600 MW stage – I, Gadarwara Super Thermal Power Project of NTPC is a moment dedicated to the growth of the country towards self sufficiency in the power, said Jyotiraditya Scindia, Union Minister of State for Power addressing a large gathering in Narsinghpur District of Madhya Pradesh today. He added that with coming of this project Narsighpur will become the power capital of Madhya Pradesh. Scindia unveiled the foundation stone of the project in the presence of Rajender Shukla , Energy Minister of Madhya Pradesh, Suresh Pachauri , former Union Minister, R N Choubey, Additional Secretary, Ministry of Power Government of India, Dr Arup Roy Choudhury, CMD, NTPC , senior dignitaries, officials of State Government, Ministry of Power and NTPC. In his address on the occasion Dr Choudhury called Madhya Pradesh Karmabhoomi of NTPC with three new projects coming up in the state at Gadarwara, Barethi and Khargone. He assured of sustainability, CSR and sound environmental practices at all the upcoming projects of NTPC. NTPC’s Gadarwara project comprises 2 units of 800 MW which have been sourced under Bulk Tendering Process initiated by Government of India for rapid capacity addition and cost competitiveness. Gadarwara project will thus be a trend setter in the state of Madhya Pradesh with 800MW unit capacity having super critical units and latest technology. This project is being implemented as a regional power project for the benefit of States/UTs of Western region with 50 per cent of the power generated from the project supplied to state of Madhya Pradesh only. Remaining power would be supplied to the states of Western Region. The project is targeted to be commissioned in the 13th Plan with total investment of approx Rs.11000 crore. The coal requirement of the project will be met from Talaipalli block from Mand -Raigarh coalfields and water sourced from river Narmada.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.