DDCA ELECTION 2018: Rajat Sharma Elected As The New DDCA President

Rajat Sharma the chairman and editor in chief of India TV elected as new Delhi & District Cricket Association (DDCA) president. He received a total of 1,521 votes (54.40 per cent) in his favour.  The elections were held on June 30. Results were announced on 2nd of July. He is elected for a tenure of three years.

The election was in limelight because of the directive issued by Justice Vikramjit Sen that the polls will be held without the proxy voting system. It is to be believed by many that the proxy voting system is the root cause of corruption in DDCA. The four-day long election was completed on 30th of June. Cricketers like Virendra Sehwag and Gautam Gambhir also cast their votes.

Rajat Sharma twitted after winning the election, “I thank all members of #DDCa who voted in the election and reposed their trust in us. I now invite all the member to join hands to bring about transparency in the functioning of #DDCA”. Sharma is known to be a close friend of former DDCA president and current Finance Minister Arun jaitely. Allegedly, Arun jaitely helped Sharma to gather support to win the election.

Former Cricketer Madan Lal lost the election by 517 votes while the Supreme Court Bar Association President Vikas Singh only managed to get 232 votes.

Rajat Sharma had said before the election, “ I don’t have any vested interest of coming to DDCA. My one and only interest are to make the DDCA transparent, corruption-free in three years and to make such a system that after three years even if I am not there in the DDCA, whoever sits on this position will not be able to corrupt this system and use it for personal benefits,” he added.

The election is over, now it is to see what changes we will witness in DDCA. Will Sharma be able to serve the way he had promised?

By:- Vikas Jha

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.